Thursday, October 19, 2006

Maps

Google Earth: http://valoriez.blogspot.com/2005/07/google-earth-and-moon.html, Maps: http://maps.google.com, http://valoriez.blogspot.com/2005/02/google-maps.html

National Atlas of the United States of America: http://nationalatlas.gov/

Maps of the Alsace: http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.com/~valorie/alsace/maps/

Maps of Scotland: http://genweblog.blogspot.com/2009/02/maps-of-scotland.html

Oddens’ Bookmarks: http://oddens.geog.uu.nl/index.php

Find out stuff about US places: http://www.epodunk.com/ (also easy links to maps)

GNIS: http://geonames.usgs.gov/pls/gnispublic
   The GNIS database provides longitude and latitude, but most of the mapping sites use street addresses. But click on a link labeled "GNIS in Google Map" to see its location on a Google map. Or, once you have found the longitude and latitude, you can go to Google Maps and enter that information, either in decimal format (44.798404, -68.827259) or as degrees/minutes/seconds (+44° 47' 54.25", -68° 49' 38.13"). Enter latitude north of the equator as a positive number, south of the equator with a minus sign. Longitude - enter anything east of the Zero Meridian as a positive number; west of zero degrees (such as North and South America) with a minus sign.

TerraServer: http://terraserver-usa.com/default.aspx (USGS aerial imagery & topographic maps)

Topozone: http://www.topozone.com/default.asp
  Placename searches: http://www.topozone.com/findplace.asp

Google Maps: http://valoriez.blogspot.com/2005/02/google-maps.html

Sustrans: http://www.sustrans.org.uk/ UK local maps online. Some show footpaths, carriageways and Roman Roads as well as ruins and ancient sites.

Global Gazetteer - Worldwide Directory of Cities & Towns: http://www.calle.com/world/index.html

Interactive World Maps/Guide: http://www.gesource.ac.uk/worldguide/worldmapbig/49.html

Links to Maps, Etchings & Related Subjects: http://www.yourmapsonline.org.uk/mapslinks.htm

David Rumsey Map Collection: http://www.davidrumsey.com

Boston Public Library's Norman B. Leventhal Map Center: http://maps.bpl.org/

MSN's MapPoint: http://mappoint.msn.com/

Modern French Maps: http://fr.maps.yahoo.com/

Antique French maps: http://perso.wanadoo.fr/sylvain.chardon/locom/loc_menu.htm

French départements in 1813 which later became German: http://www.cr-lorraine.fr/sarlorlux/deutsch/cartes/1_emp_d.htm

European maps finder: http://www.ismap.com, http:www.mappy.com, http://www.viamichelin.com/viamichelin/gbr/dyn/controller/mapHomePage

Very cool site, with old images of old cities: http://historic-cities.huji.ac.il/mapmakers/braun_hogenberg.html

   Also, use geo@genealogy.net -- for instructions, see: http://www.genealogienetz.de/misc/geoserv.html

Swedish Gazetteer: http://www.sna.se/gazetteer.html

USDA Soil Survey Maps: http://genweblog.blogspot.com/2006/10/usda-soil-survey-maps.html

"Do It Yourself" Color-Coded State Maps (save as GIF): http://monarch.tamu.edu/~maps2/

Alabama Maps: http://alabamamaps.ua.edu/

Minnesota Maps: http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/maps/tomo.html (1:24,000 , 1:100,000 & 1:250,000 topo maps)

US Railroad Maps 1828-1900: http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/gmdhtml/rrhtml/rrhome.html


Scottish Maps: http://valoriez.blogspot.com/2004/01/scottish-maps.html

German Maps: http://genweblog.blogspot.com/2006/05/german-maps.html

Distance Calculator - as the crow flies, not by road: http://www.indo.com/distance/

Wonderful blog! Cartography: http://ccablog.blogspot.com/

Have some fun with your knowledge, and test yourself here: http://www.lizardpoint.com/fun/geoquiz/


If we value the pursuit of knowledge, we must be free to follow wherever that search may lead us. The free mind is not a barking dog, to be tethered on a ten-foot chain. - Adlai E. Stevenson Jr.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , ,

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home